Lesson learned: Arizona State parties can lead to DUI arrests
Because many of our Mesa Criminal Defense Blog readers either graduated from Arizona State University or are attending ASU now, we are certain that its reputation as a party school is familiar. We read recently that ASU placed 14th on a 2019 list of the top party colleges in the U.S.
While most people understand that parties are an integral part of college life, it is also important to recognize that with consumption of alcohol comes certain risks, including the possibility of being arrested for drunk driving.
For college students, a DUI can not only threaten the continuation of your academic pursuits, but it can damage future job and career prospects as well. An Arizona DUI also comes with harsh potential penalties that include the following for a first offense:
- Jail: a minimum of 24 hours behind bars, up to 10 days
- Driver’s license suspension: 90 days up to 360 days
- Fine: $250
Plus, everyone convicted of impaired driving must have an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicle at their expense. The device prevents your vehicle from being started if it detects alcohol in your breath.
Of course, penalties get even harsher for a second, third or subsequent DUI.
For a second drunk driving conviction, you can expect a sentence to include the following:
- Jail: 30 days minimum, and up to 90
- Driver’s license suspension: one year
- Fine: $500
A second offense also requires installation of an ignition interlock device.
If you or a loved one face these possible punishments, contact a Mesa attorney experienced in DUI defense that protects your future, freedom, driver’s license and your rights at every step of the legal process.