Possible DUI Consequences in Arizona
If you occasionally drink while socializing with your friends, you are not different from many other people in Arizona. However, making the decision to get behind the wheel after even have a couple of drinks can have devastating consequences.
Expensive Fines and Fees
A DUI charge can be expensive. The base fine is $250 for a first offense, $500 for a second, and $750 for a third offense. However, these do not include court fees and costs, attorney’s fees, and the costs of any treatment or counseling programs that a judge may include in your sentence. But the financial cost of a DUI is only the tip of the iceberg.
Potential Jail Time
Driving under the influence is a criminal offense, and repeat offenders get much harsher punishments. Consider the fact that the minimum jail sentence for your third DUI could be four months. Even for your first offense, you could potentially be in jail for up to 10 days.
Extreme DUI Penalties
Driving with a blood alcohol content of at least 0.08% is enough to get you a DUI, but what happens if it is higher? In Arizona, extreme DUI is a crime that carries harsher penalties, reserved for those who get pulled over with a BAC of 0.15%. Even for your first offense, if it is an extreme DUI, your fine could be $2,500 or more, and your jail sentence could be more than 30 days.
Get DUI Legal Help in Phoenix and Mesa
Having charges reduced or dropped may be possible. There are a number of defenses that an attorney may recommend for someone facing DUI charges. These depend on the circumstances, of course, but they may include faulty breath test administration, incorrect police procedures, contamination of chemical tests, or other errors at the time of arrest or after.