What Are the Consequences for Drunk Driving in AZ?
If you choose to drive drunk in Arizona, the consequences can vary based on if this has happened before, how old you are and how much alcohol was in your system while you were driving. These are just a few factors that the Arizona Department of Public Safety identifies as considerations when the consequences for drunk driving are decided.
Arizona Blood Alcohol Levels
If you are pulled over for drunk driving and you are over 21, you will be given a DUI if your blood alcohol content is .08% or above.
For commercial vehicle drivers, this number changes to .04% and anyone under 18 can be given a DUI if they have any alcohol in their system.
Consequences for DUI Offenses
- First offense: you may spend anywhere from 24 hours to ten days in jail, pay a base fine of $250 and have your license suspended for anywhere from 90 to 360 days. Most of the time you will also be required to have an interlock ignition device to start your car.
- Second offense: you could spend anywhere from 30 to 90 days in jail. The base fine for a second offense is $500 and you could have your license suspended for up to one year. The second offense also requires the use of an interlock ignition device.
- Third offense: requires jail time of a minimum of four months. There is a $750 base fine and a one-year license suspension period. With the third offense, an interlock ignition device is also mandatory.
Your penalty for driving drunk can often depend on the circumstances, any mistakes made by the officer administering the test, and the judge. If you have a good DUI attorney on your side, you may be able to minimize the long-term consequences of driving drunk.
*This is for educational purposes and should not be interpreted as legal advice.