Penalties for a First-Time DUI Offense in Arizona
If you are facing charges for driving under the influence in Arizona, you may be curious to know what kinds of penalties and fines you can expect. Arizona is one of the toughest states when it comes to DUI laws.
According to Arizona law, it is illegal to drive or otherwise be in control of a motor vehicle
“while under the influence of intoxicating liquor, any drug, a vapor releasing substance containing a toxic substance or any combination of liquor, drugs or vapor releasing substances if the person [is] impaired to the slightest degree.”
If this is your first offense, you may find yourself facing a Class 1 misdemeanor DUI. Keep reading for more information on associated penalties and fines.
Penalties for a first-time DUI offense
A first-time DUI offender in Arizona may be subject to the following fines and penalties.
- A driver’s license suspension of up to 90-360 days. Your DUI defense may dispute this suspension.
- A minimum 24-hour jail sentence, with a maximum of 6 months
- A fine in the amount of $250 up to $1600
- Potential probation for three years
- The installation of an Ignition Interlock Device
- Potential community service
- Potential drug/alcohol education class and assessment
You may be able to beat your DUI charge
There are several factors that you can examine to make sure that your DUI charge is legitimate and will hold up in court. Many people mistakenly think that there is no way to fight the charges, but that is just not true. It is just as important to study the case and ensure that the blood test results are accurate and legally obtained.